ASPSF celebrates the Central Arkansas community’s support for single parents

Little Rock, Ark. (Oct. 4, 2022) — Arkansas Single Parent Scholarship Fund will recognize the Central Arkansas community and single parents’ success this Thursday at its annual fundraiser, A Night of Hope.

The event will begin at 6 p.m. on Oct. 6 at the Junior League of Little Rock, 401 Scott St. Emcees Ansley Watson of KATV and Rusty Hart of Immanuel Baptist Church will kick off the evening, which supports scholarships and wraparound services for local single parents, helping them through school to employment with family-supporting wages.

The dazzling celebration will include powerful student success stories, dinner from The Root Cafe, music by Don Nichols of Little Rock Piano, a wine pull, and an online auction that includes items for the outdoor enthusiast, the fashionista, the gourmet, and more — even your little farmer and tiny princess:

But most importantly, A Night of Hope will celebrate the following:

School of the Year: Baptist Health College Little Rock
BHCLR has helped so many of ASPSF’s single parents graduate and be prepared for professional employment.

Educator of the Year: Christa Jones
Christa is the Director of Nursing Programs at the University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College. She is a dedicated instructor who wouldn’t let recipient Lashawn B. give up on her academic dreams.

Employer of the Year: Leah Redmon
Leah is the Chief District Court Clerk at Saline County, and she has been a mentor for recipient Kiara C. for five years as Kiara studies and prepares for a career in criminal justice.

Bonnie Nickol Volunteer of the Year: Bridget R.
Bridget is a nurse at two Little Rock hospitals and tutors single parent students studying nursing by helping them not only gain technical knowledge but also test-taking confidence.

Alum of the Year: Racheal Williams
Racheal is a fall 2021 Arkansas State University graduate who teaches third grade at LISA Academy in North Little Rock. She is also studying for her master’s degree in teaching and has maintained a 4.0 GPA in her graduate studies.

Student of the Year: Raquelle Roulette
Raquelle graduated this spring from UA-PTC with a 4.0 GPA and is also an entrepreneur, author, and online student at the University of Arkansas working on her bachelor’s in business.

More information about A Night of Hope can be found on and the Facebook event at ASPSF Development Manager Wendy Stotts can also answer any questions at 870-273-2059 or

A Night of Hope wouldn’t be possible without our generous sponsors. Our presenting sponsor, The Rebsamen Fund, is joined by:


Conger Wealth Management
Mary & Jim Wohlleb


Philander Smith College
Shorter College
University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
University of Arkansas at Little Rock Office of Alumni & Development


Andrea & Bruce Dobson
Baptist Health College
Carol Mendel
Dr. Carl & Patricia Johnson


Arkansas State University
Alan & Camille Williams
Arvest Bank
Bank OZK
Carol Simons
Ed & Patricia Scott
IK Electric
Jan & Randal Hundley
Jay Barth & Chuck Cliett
Rose Law Firm
Simmons Bank
Steve & Linda Humphries
University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College
University of Arkansas System
Winthrop Rockefeller Foundation

About Arkansas Single Parent Scholarship Fund: For more than 30 years, Arkansas Single Parent Scholarship Fund has worked to create stronger, more educated, and more self-sufficient families. Through scholarships and wraparound services, ASPSF opens doors for low-income single parents, helping them pursue education, secure employment, and transform the future for their families. For information about scholarships, volunteer opportunities, and ways to give, visit


Posted by Jen Para at 10:59
Share |