Arkansas Single Parent Scholarship Fund welcomes 4 new board members

Little Rock, Ark. (Feb. 21, 2023) — Arkansas Single Parent Scholarship Fund is excited to announce the addition of four new members to its board of directors.

This brings the total number of board members to 15 to lead the nonprofit, which provides financial assistance and personal support to single parent students across the state.

Sharmane Andrews of Little Rock will serve on the Governance Committee. She has over 20 years of experience in banking and real estate and is currently the Senior Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer at Simmons Bank. Sharmane also serves as a Commissioner on the Arkansas Fair Housing Commission and as a member of the CFPB Consumer Advisory Board.

Daniel Brewer of Heber Springs will serve on the Finance Committee. He and his wife are the Owners/Operators of the 10-room bed and breakfast Abbe House Inn in Heber Springs. Daniel is also a board member of The Malawi Project, a minister at Shirley Church of Christ, and an emergency management specialist at Defense Finance Accounting & Services.

Mark Steenhoek of Little Rock will serve on the Finance Committee. He is an Operating Partner at Stephens Group. In this role, he uses his 15-plus years of business experience to guide growth and build long-term value in private equity.

Eddie L. Thomas of Little Rock will serve on the Student Services Committee. He serves as Assistant Director at the Arkansas Division of Workforce Services.  Eddie has almost 20 years of experience leading youth and workforce development programs. His vast community involvement includes serving on the Southeast Arkansas College Board of Trustees and the Bradley County Single Parent Scholarship Committee.

“Our board is greatly strengthened by the addition of new members eager to support our mission of helping single parents,” ASPSF Board President Betsy Baker of Little Rock said. “Their diverse business and nonprofit backgrounds will allow our board to better understand issues facing students and provide resources to address those issues. We appreciate their leadership and service to these underserved Arkansans.”

Two board members have been elected to officer positions for 2023: Ryan Morrow of The Stephens Group in Little Rock as Treasurer, and Mike Weaver of Southern Bank in Jonesboro as Secretary.  President Betsy Baker of Little Rock and President-elect Sunshine Bartlett of Fort Smith continue in their roles for a second year. 

For more information about ASPSF — which has awarded more than $35 million in scholarships across the state to single parents since 1990 — contact Communications Director Jen Para at 479-318-2885 or

About Arkansas Single Parent Scholarship Fund:  Arkansas Single Parent Scholarship Fund has worked for more than 30 years to create stronger, more educated, and more self-sufficient families. Through scholarships and services, ASPSF opens doors for low-income single parents, helping them pursue education, secure employment, and transform the future for their families. With the help of volunteers and community support, ASPSF creates multigenerational change, transforming lives for both single parents and their children. For information about scholarships, volunteer opportunities, and ways to give, visit


Posted by Jen Para at 11:56
Share |